top of page

Our Story

Chartered October 22, 1949, Epsilon Nu Omega Chapter was the first graduate chapter in Colorado. Twenty-nine college women of varying abilities and character made up its membership. Several of the women had been charter members of Alpha Kappa Chapter, founded in November 1928 on the campus of Colorado Teacher’s College,  now the University of Northern College. Epsilon Nu Omega Chapter has over 100 active members, several legacy families, and over 23 members who are Golden Sorors; women who have served Alpha Kappa Alpha for more than 50 years.


Charter Members

Erma Anderson

Ester Allen


Dana Blanchard

*Auverne Blanchard 

*Aurburn Pratt Cole

Mary Martin Cruter

Frances Hale Currin

*Louise B. Draine

Elva J. Dulan

*Frances G. Elliott

Rosa Stroud Gillespie

Edythe Elliot Grant Hughes

*Marie L. Greenwood

*Dolores Groves Finley

*Myra Glenn Harris 

Lorraine Jones Hobbs 

Murlee Hart 

Nora Jane Bailiff Holliday 

Mildred Johnson 

Jessie Knight 

Jean Miller 

Eleanor Porter Ragland 

Katherine Rohr 

Vivian Smith 

*Florida Pitt Waller

Elizabeth Ward 

*Erma R. West 

*Maytie B. Williams

Former Presidents

Lorraine Hobbs 1949-1950

Mary Cruter 1950-1951

Delores Finley 1951

Irma James 1958-1959

Lorraine Draine 1959-1960 

Barbara Dwight, 1960-1961 

Lolita Porter 1961

Evie Dennis 1962

Beverly Leali 1972-1974

Edith Shelton 1974-1976

Cheryl Cash 1976-1979 

Kathy Stowers 1979-1980 

Thelma Bowie 1980-1982 

Norma Bowles 1982-1986

Charleszine Nelson 1988-1992

Michelle Gibson 1992-1994 

Loretta Richardson 1995-1998 

Betty Edwards 1998-2000

Stacey Walker 2000-2004 

Deborah Parsons 2004 -2006 

Patricia C. O’Neal 2006-2010 

Alicia Harvey 2011 – 2015

Dawn Frazier 2016 – 2019

*Ivy Beyond The Wall

bottom of page